VIRAL: Super Falcons squad announced for 2024 Olympic qualifier against South Africa

GistReel Entertainment

squad announced for 2024 Olympic qualifier against


Super Falcons coach Randy Waldrum has revealed his 22-player squad for the upcoming Paris final qualifier against South Africa.

The squad includes familiar faces such as captain Rasheedat Ajibade, Asisat Oshoala, and goalkeeper Chiamaka Nnadozie.

Regulars like Ashleigh Plumptre, Toni Payne, Michelle Alozie, Ifeoma Onumonu, and Uchenna Kanu, also made the list.

The first leg of the qualifier will take place at the MKO Abiola National Stadium in on Friday, April 5.

Super Falcons squad announced for 2024 Olympic qualifier against South AfricaNigeria Super Falcons to battle South Africa in final qualifying round of – Getty image

The return leg is scheduled for the Loftus Versfeld Stadium in Pretoria on Tuesday, April 9.

The winner of the two-legged tie will secure one of Africa's two tickets to the 's Olympic Tournament later this year.

The other ticket will be contested between Zambia and Morocco on the same dates.

While the Falcons boast of their best squad, they will be without Oluwatosin Demehin and Rofiat Imuran, who were part of the squad in the previous round.

Below is the full squad list and clubs of attachment:

Goalkeepers: Chiamaka Nnadozie (Paris FC); Tochukwu Oluehi (Shualat Alsharqia FC, Saudi Arabia); Linda Jiwuaku (Bayelsa Queens)

Defenders: Osinachi Ohale (Pachucha Club de Futbol, Mexico); Ashleigh Plumptre (Ittihad , Saudi Arabia); Shukurat Oladipo (FC Robo Queens); Michelle Alozie (Houston Dash, USA); Nicole Payne (Portland Thorns FC, USA); Chidinma Okeke (Mynavi Sendai Ladies, Japan).

Midfielders: Deborah Abiodun (University of Pittsburgh, USA); Halimatu Ayinde (FC Rosengard, Sweden); Christy Ucheibe (SL Benfica, Portugal); Jennifer Echegini ( Ladies, Italy); Rasheedat Ajibade (Atletico Madrid FC, Spain); Toni Payne ( FC, Spain)

Forwards: Omorinsola Babajide (Coasta Adeje Tenerife Egatesa, Spain); Esther Okoronkwo (Changchun FC, China); Ifeoma Onumonu (SLC Utah, USA); Asisat Oshoala (Bay FC, USA); Uchenna Kanu (Racing Louisville, USA); Gift Monday (Coasta Adeje Tenerife Egatesa, Spain); Chiwendu Ihezuo (Pachucha Club de Futbol, Mexico).

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.