BREAKING NEWS: BREAKING: Edo Chief Judge constitutes panel to probe Deputy gov, Shaibu

Edo Deputy Governor Philip Shaibu loses bid to stop impeachment move against him

BREAKING: Edo Chief constitutes panel to probe Deputy gov, Shaibu


In line with last Tuesday's resolution of the Edo State , the Chief judge of the State, Justice Daniel Okungbowa has set up a seven- panel to probe the petition against the of the State, .

DAILY POST reports that the of Assembly had on March 6, 2024, served a notice of on
the deputy governor, Philip Shaibu over alleged misconduct and perjury with seven days ultimatum to respond to the petition.

The House, due to alleged evasion by the deputy governor to be served the impeachment notice, ordered for a substituted means of service through the State-owned the Observer Newspaper and the Vanguard Newspapers, respectively.

The notice was published on March 12, 2024.

The House in its plenary last Tuesday, March 19, 2024 passed a resolution directing the Chief Judge to set up a seven-man panel to probe the allegations levelled against the deputy governor.

DAILY POST reports that the Chief Judge complied on Friday.
A statement signed by the Chief Registrar of the State High , B.O. Osawaru, obtained by DAILY POST, named retired Justice
S.A. Omonua (Rtd), the chairman of the panel.

Three Professors from the of Benin, UNIBEN, and Benson Idahosa University, BIU, are also members of the panel.

The professors are Violet Aigbokhaevbo, Faculty of Law, UNIBEN, Boniface Onomion Edegbai, Department of Plant Biology and Biotechnology, UNIBEN and Theresa Akpoghome, former Dean, Faculty of Law, BIU.

Other members are Surveyor Andrew Oliha, Oghogho Ayodele Oviasu and Idris Abdulkareen.

Part of the reads:

This is to bring to the notice of the general public that in line with Section 188(5) of the 1999 Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria (as amended), the Honourable the Chief Judge of Edo State, Honourable Justice D.I. Okungbowa has constituted the PANEL OF SEVEN PERSONS to investigate the allegations contained in the impeachment notice against the Deputy Governor of Edo State, Rt. Honourable Philip Shaibu.

The said Panel of Seven Persons comprises the following

1. Hon. Justice S.A. Omonua (Rtd.) – chairman
2. Professor Violet Aigbokhaevbo
3. Professor Boniface Onomion Edegbai
4. Professor Theresa Akpoghome
5. Mr. Oghogho Ayodele Oviasu
6. Surv. Dr. Andrew Oliha
7. Mr. Idris Abdulkareen

B.0.Osawaru Esq.,
Chief Registrar.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.